ORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES MILLVALE BOROUGH COUNCIL Monday, January 6, 2020 Council Chambers, 501 Lincoln Avenue, Millvale, PA

The reorganization meeting of the Millvale Borough Council was called to order at 6:15 pm.

Mayor Spoales noted that the meeting was being recorded.

Everyone stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Council members William G. Stout, Paul Bossung and Katie Dembowski presented their Affidavits of Residency and were sworn into office by the Honorable Daniel J. Konieczka.

Roll Call

Members Present: Brian Spoales, Mayor James Machajewski Al Atkinson Paul Bossung Katie Dembowski Patty Sorg William G. Stout Jack Varley Brian Wolovich Also Present: Ed Figas, Borough Manager John Roth, Zoning and Planning Director Jim Tunstall, Code Enforcement Solicitor Cambest Chief Tim Komoroski

Comments from the Public on Agenda Items

None

<u>Mayor Spoales took nominations for President of Council</u> Al Atkinson nominated James Machajewski. Seconded by Paul Bossung. Roll Call Vote: Atkinson – Yes; Bossung – Yes; Dembowski – Yes; Sorg – Yes; Stout – Yes; Varley – Yes; Machajewski - Yes. Motion carried 7-0.

<u>Council President asked for nominations for Vice-President</u> Paul Bossung nominated Al Atkinson. Seconded by Jim Machajewski. Roll Call Vote: Atkinson – Yes; Bossung – Yes; Dembowski – Yes; Sorg – Yes; Stout – Yes; Varley – Yes; Machajewski - Yes. Motion carried 7-0.

Council President asked for nominations for Vacancy Board Chairman

Motion to appoint Brian Wolovich as Vacancy Board Chairman, Resolution No, 2745.

Roll Call Vote: Atkinson – Yes; Bossung – Yes; Dembowski – Yes; Sorg – Yes; Stout – Yes; Varley – Yes; Machajewski - Yes. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Stout, second by Mrs. Dembowski, to reappoint Eddie Figas as Borough Manager/Secretary and ratify his contract. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Varley, second by Mr. Bossung, to reappoint Kristie Pampena as Borough Treasurer. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Atkinson, second by Mr. Varley, to reappoint Tim Komoroski as Chief of Police and ratify his contract. Motion carried 6-0, with 1 abstaining.

Motion by Mr. Stout, second by Ms. Sorg, to reappoint Mike Vith as the Deputy Chief of Police and ratify his contract. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Atkinson, second by Mrs. Dembowski, to reappoint John Roth as the Borough Zoning Officer. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Varley, second by Mr. Atkinson, to reappoint Jim Tunstall, Sr. as Code Enforcement Officer. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Stout, second by Mr. Varley, to reappoint Jack Cambest, Esquire, of Dodaro, Matta & Cambest, P.C. as the Borough Solicitor. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mrs. Dembowski, second by Ms. Sorg, to appoint Gateway Engineers as the Borough Engineers with Jenn Slagle as our designated project manager. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Machajewski, second by Mr. Bossung, to reappoint Scott Chermak and Professional Code Services as the Borough Building Inspector. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Stout, second by Mr. Bossung, to reappoint Maher-Duessel as the Auditors for the Borough and execute a three-year agreement. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Atkinson, second by Mr. Bossung, to use the Post-Gazette as the designated newspaper for the Borough. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Ms. Sorg, second by Mr. Bossung, to make First National Bank as the Depository of Funds. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mrs. Dembowski, second by Mr. Atkinson, to set the workshop meeting dates as the first Tuesday of each month, commencing at 6:00 pm, with the exception of Monday, November 2nd, 2020. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Stout, second by Mr. Atkinson, to set the Council meeting dates as the second Tuesday of each month, with a workshop starting at 6:00 pm, and Council meeting starting at 7:00 pm. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Ms. Sorg, second by Mr. Stout, to set the Planning Commission meeting dates as the third Tuesday of each month. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Varley second by Mr. Stout, to reappoint Tina Galioto to the Planning Commission for a term of four years ending on the first Monday in January 2024, and set forth the motion as Resolution No. 2746. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Ms. Sorg, second by Mr. Bossung, to reappoint Denise Rudar to the Zoning Hearing Board for a term of three years expiring the first Monday in January 2023, and set forth the motion as Resolution No. 2747. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Varley, second by Mr. Atkinson, to appoint Brian Spoales as the Borough delegate and James Machajewski as the Borough alternate to ACBA, and set forth this motion as Resolution No. 2748 Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Varley, second by Mr. Dembowski, to reappoint Al Atkinson as the delegate and James Machajewski as the alternate to the North Hills Council of Governments (NHCOG), and set forth this motion as Resolution No. 2749. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Atkinson, second by Mr. Varley, to reappoint William Stout and Eddie Figas and Patty Sorg as alternate as the delegates to CONNECT, and set forth this motion as Resolution No. 2750. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Ms. Sorg, second by Mr. Stout, to reappoint Al Atkinson as the delegate and Paul Bossung as the alternate to the MCDC, and set forth this motion as Resolution No. 2751. Motion carried 7-0. Motion by Mr. Atkinson, second by Mr. Varley, to reappoint Jim Machajewski as delegate and Eddie Figas as alternate to the Tri-COG Landbank and set forth this motion as Resolution No. 2752. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Stout, second by Mrs. Dembowski, to appoint Eddie Figas and Kristie Pampena to the Allegheny North Tax Collection Committee and set forth this motion as Resolution No. 2753. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Varley, second by Mr. Bossung, to appoint Ray Dembowski as Public Works Project and Operations Coordinator. Motion carried 6-0, with 1 abstaining.

Motion by Mr. Stout, second by Ms. Sorg, to exonerate Scott Davis for uncollected 2019 Real Estate Taxes in the amount of \$143,531.15 and turn over to Keystone Collections. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mr. Atkinson, second by Mr. Machajewski, to adopt Resolution No. 2754, establishing reasonable attorney costs of collection for delinquent real estate tax accounts and imposing the cost of such collection upon the delinquent tax payer. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mrs. Dembowski, second by Mr. Bossung, to place \$10,000 from RTLF in escrow to aid in purchase of hilltop acreage per MOU with Allegheny Landtrust. Motion carried 7-0.

Public Comment

None.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 6:30 PM.

James Machajewski, Jr., President

Eddie Figas, Borough Manager